Eurasian Economic Union ( EAEU)

Branch in China
Branch in USA

Eurasian Economic Union ( EAEU)

Eurasian Economic Union is an international organization for regional economic integration with international legal personality and created by the Eurasian Economic Union Treaty. EEU ensures free movement of goods, services, capital and labor as well as pursuit of coordinated, harmonized or unified sectoral policies.

The member states of the Eurasian Economic Union are the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan Republic and the Russian Federation.

The EEU is created to facilitate comprehensive upgrading, cooperation and increasing competitiveness of national economies and create conditions for sustainable development for improving standards of living of its member states’ populations.

EEU Customs Union

The EEU Customs Union is a form of commercial and economic integration providing for its unified customs territory free trade in goods within which is not subject customs duties and economic restrictions other than special protection, anti-dumping and compensation measures. In this case, the Customs Union member countries use harmonized customs tariffs and other measures governing commerce with third-party countries.

The unified customs territory of the Customs Union includes the territories of the Customs Union member countries as well as artificial islands, units, structures and other objects in relation whereto the Customs Union member states have an exclusive jurisdiction.

Customs Union Member Countries:

  • Kazakhstan since 1 July 2010
  • Russia since 1 July 2010
  • Belarus since 6 July 2010
  • Armenia since 10 October 2014
  • Kirghizia since 8 May 2015

Officials of the Customs Union member states have repeatedly stated that they deem the organization free for other countries’ accession. Negotiations are already in progress with some countries on their accession to the Customs Union, and the Customs Union territory is quite likely to increase significantly in the near future.

Technical regulation in the EEU Customs Union

Technical regulation is one key elements of integration among the Customs Union member states.

Technical regulation mechanism allow removing numerous and frequently artificial technical barriers to commerce that are a critical problem for the business. It is assisted by the legal framework created in the last several years by, among other things, efforts of the Eurasian Economic Commission specialists.

The current framework of the Customs Union and Eurasian Economic Community includes the following valid international treaties aimed at simplifying goods turnover within the member states:

  • Treaty on Agreed Policy in Technical Regulation, Sanitary, Veterinary and Phitosanitary Measures;
  • Treaty on Harmonized Principles and Rules of Technical Regulation;
  • Treaty on Technical Regulation Harmonization Essentials;
  • Treaty on Application of the Harmonized Product Turnover Sign in the EEU Member States’ Market;
  • Treaty establishing the EEU Information System in Technical Regulation, Sanitary, Veterinary and Phitosanitary Measures;
  • Treaty on Turnover of Products subject to Mandatory Assessment (Validation) of Conformity within the Customs Union;
  • Treaty on Mutual Recognition of Accreditation of Authorities for Certification (Conformity Validation) and Testing Laboratories (Centers) performing Conformity Validation Work.

For details on technical regulation within the EEU Customs Union, please see the special brochure drafter by the Eurasian Economic Commission specialists:

Technical regulation in the Customs Union
Brochure of the Eurasian Economic Commission (PDF, 3,4 MB)


Phone: +7 499 347-18-97
  +7 499 409-63-69
USA office:
Phone: +12396013208
address: 7961 Gladiolus Dr. 104, Fort Myers Florida 33908 ,USA